Community College for Post-Bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2ndave

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone on this site have personal experience relating to how med schools view applicants who take their pre-reqs at a community college? I'm a 30 yo post-bacc student, just about to finish my math-sci requirements at a CC in the Twin Cities. It's one of the better ones. Almost all the profs have PhDs, and the courses are designed to feed students into the U of MN's engineering school.

I already have a BA from a very good liberal arts college and a respectable GPA. Before I started my post-bacc courses, I called some med schools and asked whether they cared where I took them. They all said no. Of course I didn't call EVERY school in America. Now, after reading some posts on this site, I'm not so sure. Certainly, the CC I'm attending won't be known to adcoms in other parts of the country. Does it help to have a BA from a well-known college? Or are some schools just prejudiced? If so, which ones? How rigid are they?

I'm thinking of adding an extra semester to my post-bacc curriculum by taking p-chem, biochem, and maybe some bio at the U of M. P-chem appears to require Calc III... Anyone know if all this is a good idea? Or just overkill? I'm not relishing the extra expense, that's for sure.

Thanks a lot in advance for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

If you already have a bachelors from a 4 year college/university and your gpa is respectable, you should be fine. Now, if you majored in hospitality and hotel management...or something like that...you would probably want to reconsider.