Community College Student Needing Help

Jerimiah King

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a community college student right now in my first year. I've been looking for some sites or resources where I can get guidance on what to do to not only transfer but to get into a successful 4 year program.
I came across www.StatFuse.com, which was really cool and allowed me to find my chances of transferring but anyone have any tips on what kinds of classes and curriculums I should focus in on to learn more about medical related topics?

Members don't see this ad.

What do you mean by "get into a successful 4 year program"? Undergrad is pretty much what you make of it, success-wise, and students from all kinds of universities get into medical schools. My best advice would be to go a university that would give you in-state tuition and/or a scholarship of some sort to minimize debt incurred. Once you've narrowed down some universities, go to their websites and learn about their transfer requirements and apply accordingly.

Medical schools and many other professional schools accept most majors, so long as you've taken the pre-reqs and demonstrated solid ability in higher level science classes. Many applicants are science majors of some sort (biology, chemistry, etc) but do what interests you. Learning about medical-related topics is probably best achieved by shadowing a physician or working/volunteering in the medical field in some capacity. The coursework in undergrad just doesn't measure up to professional-level speed/volume.

Talk to your advisor. Most CCs have schools that you're guaranteed a place in with a certain GPA. See if there's any that interest you. Also you need to figure out how much you can afford. YOU can't even borrow $10,000 a year without a consigner, so talk about that with your parents. Your best option is probably going to be your in-state flagship school so look up how your credits transfer to your major.

Members don't see this ad :)