Competitiveness of Chicago Programs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SoulinNeed

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a med student who's really interested in EM, but I really want to wind up in Chicago for residency. I just wanted to ask, how competitive are Chicago programs? I essentially count 6 (including Advocate in Oak Lawn). I thought there would be a good mix, but Advocate's EM program (which I'm not sure is well known) seems to have residents that are all top 10% USMLE (at least that's what their profile says on their website). Is this typical for all the programs there? Are they all hyper competitive? Thanks for any help.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You're absolutely correct. I did mean Advocate. Sorry about that. Let me edit the OP to be more accurate. Still wondering, though.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
There was a recent thread about those listed "percentiles" on here and the consensus was that someone in the program mistook the old two digit score for a percentile. So basically everyone with a 240+ (or whatever the 99 cutoff used to be set at) was listed as "Top 1 percentile USMLE" and so on. This confusion has always existed with the two digit scores and that's why they were finally retired.

Basically, ignore that part of the info page.

There was a recent thread about those listed "percentiles" on here and the consensus was that someone in the program mistook the old two digit score for a percentile. So basically everyone with a 240+ (or whatever the 99 cutoff used to be set at) was listed as "Top 1 percentile USMLE" and so on. This confusion has always existed with the two digit scores and that's why they were finally retired.

Basically, ignore that part of the info page.