Concerned my full academic record will get in way

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psych844

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was a pretty average student for most of my academic record (B average) and had some kinks in my record (one particularly bad year), but the last couple of years I've improved my study habits and been more motivated because I know what I want to do in my life. I'm finally a pretty consistent student, high B+ average/A- area. I was also motivated to be a better student in my last year of my first degree and now my second degree because many Phd Psych programs in Canada only consider your last two years of your undergrad (for GPA calculations). But one concern I'm having, after reading one of the Uni sites, is that while they will consider my GPA with only the courses from the last two years, they will look and may consider the whole record to make a decision. I don't know if all the schools have such an outlook, but it wouldn't be surprising. What do you guys think? Will this get in the way?

I made a decision awhile ago that I will only be applying to accredited Canadian programs (that offer full funding), as I'm not willing to take on more debt. But we have only about 20 accredited clinical psych programs in Canada with about 60-200 applications for each school yearly and each school only admitting between 4-7 students. My past academic record is making me question if I'm really competitive for these programs.

Members don't see this ad.

The Adler School of PP is starting a PsyD program in Vancouver in the Fall of 2015.

FSPP are not as strict about GPA or GRE but usually need above 3.0 and 1000 for the GRE. I believe in Canada you can be registered with a masters degree in psychology. They will probably apply for CPA accreditation after their first cohort graduates.

Last edited: