Considering HPSP with a Family

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Radtad

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am applying to medical school this year and have been debating on going for the HPSP scholarship or just doing the student loans. I am a nontraditional student that has been working as a nuclear medicine technologist for the last eight plus years. I am 30, married, and have two kids. My kids are 9 and 7. My wife has been able to stay at home with the kids the whole time and that is something that has been important to us. While working I received my undergrad in biology. I have known since my clinical rotations for nuc med, some nine years ago, that I wanted to be a doc. I have been working towards it ever since. Now that my distant dream has come closer to reality I have been stressing which path to choose as far as military (Army) or not. So I was hoping that I could have a few of you who have been in my position help me out, give me some advice, and answer a few questions.