Contacting DPTs for Observation Hours

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

charlotter

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there! I was wondering what the protocol was for contacting practicing DPTs to get observation hours. I am a sophomore in college and would like to observe at a practice this summer. I was wondering how to go about asking to observe and what I should specifically ask? I was planning to email DPTs in the area, but it looks like I have to call. I'm really not sure what to ask.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Email or better yet go IN PERSON to areas. Use family friends. I highly discourage going through a hospital volunteering program. They're usually awful and youll just be another number and person walking around (makes it hard to get experience).

I did 7 clinics. 5 were on my own accord. Phone calls, walking in and talking to people to set things up etc. Find someone who will teach you things and form a relationship with you. Otherwise, youll be wiping beds for free without learning anything about the field or getting someone to sign your hours off. Volunteering can be really rewarding if approached right....and you need to set it up so professionals will verify hours and write recommendations if you've had a positive experience. Keep a spreadsheet log.

Good luck!

Generally if you want to do acute care hospital hours you have to go through a big drawn out application process but I highly recommend it even if it only 20 hours you can pick up as this is a setting a lot of applicants lack that adcoms often like to see.

This question has been answered quite a few times btw so a lot of helpful information action can be found if you look for old threads on the subject.

Members don't see this ad :)
"Hi, my name is so-and-so and I was wondering if you have any physical therapy observation/shadowing/volunteer opportunities?"