controlled substance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pharmacat78

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I work as an intern for CVS. We need pt's driver license for all the controls. It is hard to tell if a drug is a controlled substance or not. Does anyone know where can I find a complete list of all the controlled substance (brand vs.generic)?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Do you need the drivers license at drop off or pick-up? This is not a national law or an official CVS policy. This is restricted to your store or you area.

I work as an intern for CVS. We need pt's driver license for all the controls. It is hard to tell if a drug is a controlled substance or not. Does anyone know where can I find a complete list of all the controlled substance (brand vs.generic)?

Thank you.

On the blue label there should be a "C" preceding the Rx# in the upper right for all controlled substances (C-3 and C-4, I think...). "N" precedes C-2's.

Double check this with your PIC, i'm not sure if C-4 pops up that way.

Members don't see this ad :)
Also it will vary from state to state as to what is a controlled substance and what isn't, so if you do find a list make sure its specific to your state.

Do you need the drivers license at drop off or pick-up? This is not a national law or an official CVS policy. This is restricted to your store or you area.

Oddly enough today I stopped by the CVS in Rittenhouse Sq. and they had a sign that said all C-II's required a DL to p/u. Yesterday I was at the store on 11th/Market and they didn't have such a sign.

Weird because that latter store is pretty ghetto while the former is in a gentrified area, and they're roughly 7 blocks apart. So I guess the policy is on a store-by-store basis.