Criminal record and LOA from med school

NotAProgDirector

Pastafarians Unite!
Staff member
Volunteer Staff
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a medical student that became ill during my 3rd yr. I had a suicide attempt, which led to a disorderly conduct conviction. Yes, the legal system kicks you while you are down. thank you, wonderful cops that do such wonderful jobs of nothing in my town.
Now I am awaiting returning to school. However, I feel my chances at residency are ruined forever. I wanted to do radiology but now am thinking of internal medicine. I am from a top 20 med school, step 1 231, clinical grades 2As, 2Bs, 1C - from having severe depression during this rotation in neurology.
What should I do to look better to programs? How should I explain my conviction? I did voluntary community service out of guilt for my actions. How do I explain a year off of medical school without saying I had a suicide attempt that was so public I got a conviction?

Should I even apply to radiology? I am planning to apply to both internal med and radiology. I was told this was a bad idea. Any opinions?

I appreciate any advice. And just to say, I have never had a good experience with cops. I have had a pretty extensive experience with them growing up. I don't think they do their job at all. They are also super racist towards illegals. I like illegals. They are hardworking, good people

All hope is certainly not lost.

Your year off and conviction aren't going to be positives -- you know that already. You'll need to disclose the conviction on your ERAS application (both felonies and misdemeanors need to be disclosed), so there will be no secrets here.