Critical care vs neonatology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

soleluna

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there!
I need help in choosing my medical specialty. I am a 4th year Med student in Italy. Here the system is 6 years medicine+ specialty training (which can be 4,5 or 6 years).
Usually people choose their specialty beforehand and then they write their graduation paper (thesis) on the specialty subject: it gives points to enter the wanted residency. Spots for the thesis are limited: usually who gets the thesis gets the residency, if they pass the specialty admission test.

In fact we have to pass a written quiz (national) plus an oral and practical examination (to which you are admitted if you pass the quiz) to get into a residency. Who gets most points on the quiz + practical/oral exam gets the spot. Additional points for admission are given for publications, thesis and top score in certain exams of the 6 year course that are chosen by each specialty professor. Points are also given if the mean score for all the 6 year exams is higher than 28/30 (the higher the score, the higher the points) and for graduation score.

The specialty admission test is national: a student can try ONE test for clinical subjects in only ONE town nationwide, one surgical test in one town only and one 'services' test (which includes lab medicine, etc)-you guessed it: only in one town- but not more than that. So I can apply for 3 positions, and no more than three. But I can only write one thesis (in my preferred specialty)

The thesis is written during 6th year, so I thought I still had at LEAST next year to decide. Instead our urology professor told us that some people have already contacted him for the urology thesis (which they will write during 6th year). Thesis spots are limited for each specialty.