CRNA's: sorry not worried anymore

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dizzy21

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
114 CRNA schools in the US currently, thats about 1000 of them per year. As a resident I used to agonize about the future of our specialty.

Who knew it would be the AANA to the rescue for us. They have mandated the opening of so many schools, enough to flood the market. Most SRNA's I talk to at my program are having to move out of state BFE for jobs. They are complaining that signing bonuses are non-existant.

Like the 1990s for Anesthesiologists, supply will overwhelm demand, their salaries will go down.

With the DNAP coming in 2025, thats another year of VERY EXPENSIVE CRNA school. >100K in debt for salaries that will be <100K/year, plus the added malpractice insurance that independent CRNA's will have to pay. That adds up to not a whole lot more for your average nursing salary. Plus more stress and added hours vs your typical nursing job. And the AANA has no clout to close these CRNA mills, they are huge money makers for the institutions that run them.

These people have shot themselves in the foot. If anything we have provided the current generation of CRNA's the income and level of practice they enjoy. All it took was the AANA to get greedy.

I will still contribute to ASA-PAC as where anesthesiologists land in this debacle I'm still not sure, but the OR will always need physicians perioperatively.

But I at least can get comfort knowing that every time a CRNA tells me that he/she is equal to me, 15 years down the line, most will have rinky dink salaries lots of liability and debt levels that will dissuade more from entering the field. They always say they are cheaper "anesthesia providers", well they are about to get a whole lot cheaper.