Current master's degree student in cognitive neuroscience: Medical school options?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CogNeuroGuy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I usually stay in the psychology section of this forum, however, I wanted to gauge some of the potential responses and opinions that you fine folk have.

My background (degrees):

A.A. - liberal arts -GPA: 3.15
B.A. - sociology, minor in psychology-GPA: 3.75 (at the university) (cumulative UGPA:3.3/3.4)
M.S. (in progress) - applied cognition and neuroscience-GPA: 3.50

I currently do research in clinical neuropsychology at a major medical university, I am in that phase where I am entertaining many possibilities in terms of what I would like to do with my life. Prior to completing my education, I was a classical musician. I am deciding if it is worth it to return back to the 2-year college I received my A.A. from to finish 8 of the pre-med courses required for admissions and then apply for medical school. I would focus probably in neurology or psychiatry (combines my current and prior education).

Opinions?

Members don't see this ad.

If it is something that you have a deep desire to pursue then GO FOR IT! Why not? You seem more than capable to handle the course load, it seems like you need to make a decision if it is something that you truly want to do. 10+ years until your fully able to practice, if your answer is yes, then I think you have your answer.

I usually stay in the psychology section of this forum, however, I wanted to gauge some of the potential responses and opinions that you fine folk have.

My background (degrees):

A.A. - liberal arts -GPA: 3.15
B.A. - sociology, minor in psychology-GPA: 3.75 (at the university) (cumulative UGPA:3.3/3.4)
M.S. (in progress) - applied cognition and neuroscience-GPA: 3.50