Program-Specific Info / Q's CURRENT OT STUDENTS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2015 Applicant

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Are there any students out there who are not impressed with their program or who wish they had gone somewhere else?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
I'm a current OT student in my second year. I won't call out my school by name, although I'm sure you can find it in past threads. I go to a top 15 school, and something I didn't really investigate well before starting my program is the criteria that is used to rank schools. The biggest is RESEARCH. I only applied to well ranked schools thinking that meant something, but there's actually a huge drawback to it. Schools with research dollars by and large use tenured faculty to teach instead of adjunct. In my case, many of these professors haven't practiced in years (I'm talking late 80s early 90s). We've had a couple adjunct who have come in for guest lectures, but there is really a huge disconnect between them and our professors. Our professors are skilled in one area of practice, because that's what they research on. Anything they don't, I feel like we are missing a lot of crucial practice in. A lot of our professors don't seem to grasp what's really going on in the field and the students are paying for it. If I could go back, I would choose a lower ranked school with mostly adjunct faculty. I'm not interested in being a researcher, I want to be an OT. I honestly think I'd be less disillusioned going to a school where I am learning from current occupational therapists.

Reactions: 5 users