Curriculum Vitae / Resume Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yummygummy

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
As a pharmacist intern, I was taught to put my license/certifications at the bottom of my CV. Now that I am a licensed pharmacist, I have found conflicting recommendations. Should I move my pharmacy license to the first page, right under education? If so, should I also move my other certifications to the first page such as HIPPA, CPR, or Immunization? Or should I put my license on the first page and the rest of the licenses on the last page?

Members don't see this ad.

Not a pharmacist or hiring person, but the first page of your resume should highlight the experiences and qualifications that stick out and make me want to turn to the next page on your credentials. Leave your license & certs to the back.

Also, please don't put HIPAA certification on there. Each company/institution will have their own so it's just fluff on your CV/resume.

Members don't see this ad :)
I wouldn't put your pharmacy license on it at all--at some point if you are being considered, you will have to fill out their employment form, and it will ask for licenses there. I know some people put their license on their resume/CV, but I never have, for the same reason I wouldn't put my social security number on my resume/CV.

I would not put HIPAA on, but I would put HIPPA for sure. How many people can claim to be HIPPA certified?

Owlegrad, can you please clarify. Do you recommend or NOT recommend adding HIPPA? I do agree with Rockinacoustic that each institution has their own HIPPA so perhaps I should take it off.