D on first test in DPT school. Where to go from here?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

QuestioningPT

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
We had our first test ever in DPT school. I got a D.
I studied but everyone else got As/Bs.
Should I drop out? I don't want to give up so easily, but is this a sign that I can't do it?
I don't know what to do...

Members don't see this ad.

I think I got a very low C on every single one of my Gross Anatomy tests except the last one. I ended up with an 88 in the course.

I have definitely tanked several quizzes and outright failed at least one test over the past two years.

Despite all this, my GPA is a comfortable 3.5.

You will pass PT school if you just ignore the failures and keep working.

Reactions: 1 user
Something tells me IF this is a serious problem that you knew about it in the previous 16+ years of education. Naturally it's worse now. My suggestion is to drop out if it's going to be a waste of money. Eventually you'll fail the NPTE exam and be no better than a glorified PT tech.

Members don't see this ad :)
It's just one test.

It's a matter of learning styles and adaptation. The first thing you're going to do is adhere by your study schedule. If you don't have one, that was your problem. Second, meet with the professor to clarify where your deficiencies are and go from there. And...no more Netflix.

What class is this?

Something tells me IF this is a serious problem that you knew about it in the previous 16+ years of education. Naturally it's worse now. My suggestion is to drop out if it's going to be a waste of money. Eventually you'll fail the NPTE exam and be no better than a glorified PT tech.

I'm not sure what kptnau is talking about?
Did you study?