DAT Advice on a Retake

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chemboy23

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so here's my deal. I took the DAT back on August 3, 2010 and scored really poorly.

BIO-18 sciGPA - 3.32
GC-16 cumGPA - 3.38 (All w/o +/-)
OC-20 totGPA - 3.46
RC-17
QR-16

PAT-17

TS-17
AA-17

So...I have to wait 90 days. I felt really comfortable going into the test, but obviously I wasn't prepared. I studied for like 10-12 hours per day (including most weekends) for 2 full months. My wife and I ended up staying at each others' throats because I was so stressed from studying all the time. We have worked things out now, spent much time together and all, but I really do not want to have to do this again. I have yet to hear ANYTHING back from any of the schools I applied to. I had a great life story, so maybe they are making considerations or something. Either way, I want to prove that I can still make a competitive score on the DAT!

Schools I applied to through AADSAS:

-Midwestern (AZ)
-ASDOH - have over 1,000 hours of dental community service
-Western
-Loma Linda (am SDA)
-Mississippi (home state)
-Tennessee
-UNLV
-Southern Nevada (my favorite)

The earliest possible date I can retake is November 3, 2010 so I would like to give myself at least another month to review all of the material again. Do you think this is too late to send these scores when I get them to the schools? God knows, AADSAS isn't going to get in a big hurry, and neither will ADA...runs me crazy! Everything is on the computer these days, what the heck is the big deal? My AADSAS profile is basically screwed...I still have most of the schools I applied to under the status of "mailed 7/19" and another line says "mailed 8/27" and then now it says "not mailed 10/1"....wtfh??? So confused!!!