About the ads

DAT Breakdown 6/27/2013

Discussion in 'DAT Discussions' started by cav22188, Jun 27, 2013.

1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.

Thanks to Crack the DAT

Thanks to DAT Destroyer
  1. cav22188

cav22188

Pre-Dental

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    Hey Everyone! Just finished taking my DAT. Unfortunately, I didn't hit my goal, but just relieved to be done with. Hopefully, I can help someone achieve theirs.

Scores:
    PA 18 :(
    QR 21
    RC 17 :(
    Bio 22
    GC 21
    OC 24
    TS 22
    AA 21

Background: I'm a non-traditional student. I studied economics in undergraduate (2.8 GPA - I was very lazy!). After working for a year in finance, I quite my job to pursue dentistry. I returned to school and spent the past 2 years taking science courses (4.0 GPA over the past 50 credits).

Materials used: Cliffs, Barrons, Chads, Crack DAT, Destroyer and Math Destroyer, Alans notes, Ferralis notes

Practice: ADA 2007 (24 AA, 21 PAT) and 2009 (21 AA, 21 PAT)

Time spent studying: 6 weeks; 8-12 hours/day

Perceptual Ability (18): Crack DAT
    I was scoring 21-23 over 10 practice exams. Keyholes, TFE, and holepunch were harder on the real DAT. Angles and cube counting were definitely easier. Pattern folding was on par. Overall, CDP prepares you well. I just didn't execute.

Biology (22): Cliffs, Destroyer, Barrons, Alans, Ferralis
    There were a few fact questions, but for the most part, they were application type questions. Cliffs and Barron is sufficient. Destroyer was over kill.

General chemistry (21): Chads, Destroyer
    Thought I would've done better here. Chads prepares you pretty well. Mostly conceptual questions. Had a handful of calculations.

Organic chemistry (24): Chads, Destroyer