Decision between two research labs....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smallbadwolf

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
SO.....

I've been working in a lab on campus in UTDallas since December of 2009 (7 months and counting).

However, I recently have been offered an opportunity to work in a lab in UT Southwestern (for potentially up to two years if I start in the fall --I'm going to be a junior).

In either lab, I may be able to get a publication if I work my ass off these next two years. But, the head of the lab at UTDallas is more well-known than the head of the lab at Southwestern (has more papers out there).

Question: Should I switch to Southwestern??
:confused::confused:

Members don't see this ad.

Do you like your current lab? If so, you probably already have a project going and I'd say stick with it. Continuity is huge in research, you'll get more done.

On the other hand, if you don't like your lab, don't have a lot of responsibility, aren't fulfilled, like the research more at the other lab, then go for it.

SO.....

I've been working in a lab on campus in UTDallas since December of 2009 (7 months and counting).

However, I recently have been offered an opportunity to work in a lab in UT Southwestern (for potentially up to two years if I start in the fall --I'm going to be a junior).

In either lab, I may be able to get a publication if I work my ass off these next two years. But, the head of the lab at UTDallas is more well-known than the head of the lab at Southwestern (has more papers out there).

Question: Should I switch to Southwestern??
:confused::confused:

Why would you switch? Is there anything wrong with the lab you're currently in?

I know this may not concern you, but it seems a little unfair to your current PI, whose lab has invested the time/money/energy into training you, for you to up and switch to a "more prestigious" lab just because.