Dental Admission. The whole package

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Parnia

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am very new to SDN. I am towards my beginning years in undergrad and well I know the any health field is becoming more competitive by the day. I greatly with passion hope to become an orthodontist, but I am so very nervous about the admission process to dental school. I want to know everything that will help me greatly. When should I start studying for the DAT (keep in mind I AM NOT A SKILLED TEST TAKER)? What are some bullets dental schools look for in an applicant other than grades? What are impressive interview questions? What dental schools are competitive? I reside in Texas so basically the only dental schools I'm aware of are the ones here. I know its way too early to think about the DAT or even admissions but I want to be admitted in some great dental schools. Please inform me with any vital information. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

You can go to Pre-dental section to look up.

when you get to where most us are at, you'll see how flippant your wanting to becoming an orthodontist is at your stage in life...
1. You have to get past the weeder classes (ochem, biochem, physics) = 2 years from where you are now
2. You have to get a decent GPA and DAT score = 3-4 years from where you are now
3. You have to get an interview = 4 years from where you are now
4. You have to get into dental school = 4.5 years from where you are now
5. You have to be in the top 10-20% of your dental school class = 4.5-8 years from where you are now
6. You have to get a great GRE score = 7 years from where you are now
7. You need to do dental research = 5 years from where you are now
8. You have to apply to residency = 8 years from where you are now
9. You have get accepted to one of the most competitive dental specialties.