Dental Hygienist Applying to Dental School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Toothfaiiry

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first time posting on here, and I've already read some similar posts to mine, but I'd really appreciate some feedback on my particular situation, because it's a bit more unique.

I'm a 25 year old dental hygienist (Associate degree), and I'm currently back in school taking pre-reqs for dental school while getting my bachelor's degree in biology. I went to Stony brook U. after high school for 2 years, where I was pre dental, my GPA was terrible, so I switched into a dental hygiene program where I did much better, graduated and have been working as a hygienist for 2.5 years (also have assisted for 10 years). I went back to school last fall, and my GPA is around a 3.2 which I'm hoping to get up to a 3.4-3.5 by the time I'm done (3.3 Science GPA), and I haven't taken my DAT's yet. I know that my GPA is pretty low and not competitive, but it's my ABSOLUTE DREAM to be a dentist, so I want to try and make it happen, and I had a few questions:

a) Do dental schools look at your entire academic record? My grades this time around are good, but they were terrible in the past
b) Do I have any chance of getting into dental school? I am planning on applying in the NY area
c) Does me being a dental hygienist help at all?
d) I was planning on doing the gateway program at UMDNJ, does this help to get into their dental school?
e) Does anybody have advice on ways I can improve my application to mask my GPA as much as possible?

I appreciate any constructive feedback, no negative or rude comments please- Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

a) yes they look at your entire academic record. At least they will see your grades have improved.
b) If you do well on your DAT you will have a good chance at getting in
c) Being a hygienist will definitely help