dentist contemplating going back

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a dentist. 8 years out and just bought my own practice.
Wife's an anesthesiologist.

Dentistry has been good to me. Financially it allowed me to retire my student debt as well as my wife's debt while she was in residency. It has afforded me a lifestyle that has been pretty decent, I work 32 hrs a week with patients. Admin, add in another 8 hrs. But in reality I'm always thinking about the practice. Running a business is stressful.

At the peak of my career, I was in corporate dentistry making 350K working about 32hrs, and the number would just keep climbing. So this is not a financial decision.

There's a lot of "selling" in dentistry. When patients come to see me they want to hear all is well, not that they need a filling or a crown. And I'm not extroverted enough to do it day in and day out. Feels like a confrontation. My wife on the other hand. Goes into work and theres so much work to do, no selling.

Love the prestige that doctors tend to have over dentists. Love to keep getting better clinically vs. getting better selling. Because at the end of the day the most successful dentists are the ones that are extroverted, great at selling. What good are your clinical skills if you can't use them...

One of my dentist friends and I were talking about going back to school just in theory.

Could I do an OMFS route and go into anesthesia like some of the other anesthesiologists have?
Or would it be better just to apply to medical school and start all over again?
I'm about to turn 34. Is this too old?

Thanks for any input.

Members don't see this ad.