dentistry? or optometry?? I'M SO CONFUSED

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xenomblack

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
:eek: hey guys..
I'm a sophomore pre-dent..
until recently.. I was so SURE that I wanted to be a dentist
having a dentist uncle and all..
but after shadowing an oral surgeon and a couple of other dentists..
I'm not so sure if looking at other people's mouths will give me a happy and rewarding life..

I know I hate going to dentists personally.. and I certainly don't want to be the one who gets hated by most of the patients he meets..

I've been interested in optometry for a quite a while..
last winter, i got LASEK vision corretion surgery and stuff.. so I know optometry (i know surgery isn't exactly what eye doctor's job description says.. but some other reasons.. i can't go to medical school) provides some aspects that i really enjoy... like giving patients good visions and satisfying them without much pain.. (LASEK wasn't that painless... but anyways... )

Does anyone who's been shadowing an eye doctor and know both positive and negative aspects about the job they observed??

I'm going to see my advisor soon and talk about my problem, but I would greatly appreciate other students' perspectives on why optometry is great compared to other health-related professions (cause sometimes i feel like advisor's don't really help you in deep enough level that you can trust.. you know?)

thanks alot guys...

Members don't see this ad.

xenomblack said:
I'm not so sure if looking at other people's mouths will give me a happy and rewarding life..

I know I hate going to dentists personally.. and I certainly don't want to be the one who gets hated by most of the patients he meets..