Dentistry salary

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mary1984

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I would like all the dentists here to be honest with me because I am making a big decision. I have my Master's degree in electrical engineering and I would like to start my education in dental school. I talked to the advisors and for that I need to study at least 2 years in a college or university before getting dental school admission. My question is that do you think it will worth according to the dentists' salary? I appreciate it if any body can give me an actual number for the salary so that I can compare it to my salary as an engineer.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

BLS says 120-150k but ADA says 190k. salary rises and falls with the economy. associate generally pays less than owner. salary changes depending on where you live. it also depends on how much debt you'll get into. first debt will be dental school. if you end up at a private school, you're looking at 400k in debt so youll be making chump change (salary after taxes - 60,000 = spending money for 10 years) if you plan on paying it off in ten years. you could pay it off in 30 yrs but you will pay almost a million if you do. second debt will be buying a practice or building your own.

a good idea is going to one of those cheap state schools or military. can't look at this in short term. gotta look long term.

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=868931

Reactions: 1 user
4 yrs of dental school then 1 yr residency optional, start off as an associate making approx 110k and work your way up to 250-300k+ working 4 days a week or maybe more as an owner....is it worth it for you, 6 yrs before you start making 100k....if you really really think you will love it, yes, if not, no

Members don't see this ad :)