Desperately seeking Advice (low GPA) (Canadian undergraduate student)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MusicBrandon

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

Thanks for taking the time to read my cry for help :) Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.

About me:

I'm currently studying Arts and Science, combining with political science, at McMaster. I didn't give a damn about education or grades when I got into university. I was actually planning to switch into a music program, and pursue the life of a composer.

My first year average was a C+, or about 68%.

In second year, I cared a bit more, but not by much. That average was a B, or 75%.

In third year, I failed organic chemistry in the first term. I didn't work hard enough. I didn't put in nearly enough time. At this point, I finally woke up. I stopped wasting time on frivolous things, and ended my third year with one F, and the rest being A-s, A s, and my first A+ of my university education. The sessional average for my third year was a B+, or about 78. Over the summer, I retook Organic Chemistry 1, as well as OChem 2, and got B+ on both.

I also wrote the MCAT the beginning of this September, and though the marks haven't been released yet, I am fairly confident with it, and especially with the verbal component.

I'm now in my fourth year, at the end of which I will have completed all my required courses for my degree. I currently have a cumulative GPA of 3.0, which I expect to increase by the end. My question is: What do I do now? Should I take an extra year as a 'continuing student'? Will these grades be recognized by the selection committee? Should I take a masters in political science? What should I be doing over the summer/school year to increase my chances of getting in somewhere?