Did drugs before school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr. Yes

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. This thread might come off as a little ridiculous, but the thought has been bugging me since school started.

I was a great student in undergrad, had no problems focusing or studying, and had an MCAT score in the low 30's.

Had a gap year between undergrad and med school, made a lot of poor choices involving drugs and alcohol.

Used acid, mushrooms, cocaine, Xanax, and weed. Multiple times each, but only the Xanax was a regular thing (took for a month or two).

Occurred mainly from September to January, then I got my **** back together.

After that I just drank heavily on the weekends.

Now I'm in school and feel very stupid compared to my classmates.

They'll be learning innervations and insertions while I'm still struggling to remember muscle names.

Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Say no to drugs kids.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, my thought is you get 1/10 for that trolling performance.

Wish I was trolling. Actually concerned.

Is it possible I actually damaged my brain? Am I just not studying hard enough/effectively enough?

Is it possible I actually damaged my brain? Am I just not studying hard enough/effectively enough?
OzzyChangingHands02-20-2010.jpg

Reactions: 8 users
Maybe/Maybe not. You have no way of knowing, assuming now you've stopped. As far as the latter about studying, I have no idea. Depends on your grades, how much time u spend actually studying vs. messing around, etc.

Probably just not studying properly. Many people feel like they can't keep up at the beginning of med school. That said, I'm sure the drugs didn't help. Don't ever do drugs again, for the sake of your future patients and your own brain.

I recall at least 2 other threads in the past 1-2 years that were 99% identical. .5/10

tumblr_lemt4yQV3U1qcfba3o1_500.gif