Disability and Becoming a Physician

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Volshe

All your cells are belong to me!
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I hope this is the right forum for this!

I'm currently majoring in microbiology and pre-med. I have a medical condition which has caused some difficulties but has not stopped me from achieving a high GPA or my other goals.

However, I recently developed stroke like symptoms on my left side. It was diagnosed as migraine versus a stroke, and I was told it would go away within 24 hours. It's been a lot longer than that. I now have to see a neurologist to determine the cause and if it is reversible. So far I have been told it very well might not be reversible.

My left leg is weak and stiff, sometimes painful. I cannot walk properly anymore. My left arm has mild parasthesia and weakness of my ring and pinky fingers. The doctor I saw determined the weakness to be true in both my leg and hand, as well as an inability to extend my leg fully. (Just to give a nature of the disability I am facing). I am luckily right handed, though.

My question is this:
I have been wanting for the past 10 years (a very long time) to become an EM doc, with particular interest in trauma team work. At points I debate going for trauma surgery. I am understandably quite worried about how this affects my future. I have other specialties I'd like to work in that are less intensive (infectious disease, for example), but my heart has been in EM for so long.

I'd like to know if anyone can give some insight into if I should reassess my goals or just try to work through this? Do you think it is possible for me to continue reaching for my goals, if this is a permanent disability? If not, what specialties would you recommend I refocus my energy into?

Members don't see this ad.