dismissed, was it fair?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ptornopt

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here is my story.

I was a 2nd year DPT student and was dismissed from the program because I did not safely transfer a mock patient during a neuro practical final.
They gave me one more chance to perform the exam again (it's their policy) but I did even worse than the first time and it was just terrible...

My story: I know it will sound like bunch of crappy excuses but I tend to get really nervous during exams. I was extremely nervous. The patients were heavy and I froze with the patients, standing up...I was sighing and crying...However, I was able to answer all their questions. And I was also diagnosed with general anxiety disorder which the school did not give crap about because they did not know about it before.

School's story: They allow student to repeat one class if the student fails the class. I already repeated once so when I did not pass the practical, that was it for my chance. and because I did not pass the practical successfully, they had to dismiss me according to their policy.

I am trying to be 100% honest here so I get honest feedback. I know by all means,I was not competent during the exam. However, I did just fine when I practiced before the actual exam and I don't know why I did what I did during the exam...I fought till the end where I had to meet the dean of the school but no one was on my side and I think maybe that's why I feel like I was treated unfairly. They were cold and no one was on my side. I can't say I was the best student but my overall GPA was okay and I always got good feedback from all my CI's from my internships.

I need your opinions so I can just forget about what happened to me and move on with my life.
It definitely was such a traumatic experience whether it was my fault or not.
Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: