Distance prescription problem -- what next?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Status
Not open for further replies.

te.mi

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have come to a very frustrating point, and am looking for some advice as to how to get the eyeglasses I need.

I have been wearing bifocals and trifocals for at least 25 years. (I had a pair of "no lines" for about 6 months, and was glad when I lost them, but that is neither here nor there.)

Other than my first glasses (I went straight to bifocals), I have always had an easy transition between pairs of glasses. I could usually use them full time right away. This time has been different.

First, they mounted one lens higher than the other, so that the transitions didn't line up. I spotted it before even leaving the office. They got that fixed.

The other problem I spotted right away, but they urged me to try to get used to it. It isn't something I can get used to. The glasses are too strong. Things are in focus out to 20-30 feet, and get blurrier after that. My old glasses are good out to infinity, so anything far away I can see better with my old glasses.

I went back and they measured the glasses (pronounced "made to prescription") and got my eyes re-checked "same as the prescription I wrote last time" and told to go home and get used to the glasses for another 2 weeks.

After spending dozens of hours on the Internet, I know a lot more about glasses and optometry than I did before. (I am an engineer and a serious amateur photographer, so I already knew a good bit about optics, optical aberrations, etc.)

The conclusion I am coming to is that a combination of factors have probably come together in an unlikely combination that is leaving me with glasses that are not correct.

The factors I suspect:
1. My vision is better than 20/20, probably more like 20/15 or better. (I rely on that vision, and know what my eyes can do.)