DIY Post-Bacc SLOWLY?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MrsBookworm

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thanks for taking the time to read my message. I couldn't find another topic that already discussed this exact situation.

I went to Bryn Mawr College, had my daughter (insert joke here about getting pregnant while at a women's college) and then finished my undergrad at Chapman University. I got a degree in political science with a 3.9 overall GPA. I currently work in sales training in the medical device field.

My daughter is now finishing sixth grade, and I want to go to medical school... but not until she goes to college. She is the only child I will ever have, and I want to cherish these last few years that she is at home. However, I would like to get my prereqs out of the way so I am ready to start medical school in 2020. All of this long explanation to say: will a program like UCI look down on an otherwise strong applicant who took 4-5 years to complete prereqs, and who did them DIY? A traditional postbacc program will take more time away from my family than I am willing to give right now. I am a strong student and a very strong test taker (1420 SAT back when it was a 1600 scale) so I expect to do well in these courses and on the MCAT when the time comes.

I'm not at all adverse to hard work for its own sake - I did get that 3.9 while raising my daughter alone and working full time. I just want to take the next few years slowly. Thanks SO MUCH for any advice you can give!

Members don't see this ad.

I did a dyi post bac over 3yrs, but I had almost all my prereqs, so 4-5 yrs to me seems very reasonable with a full time job and children. I think that it's important to take tough,high-quality classes once you take your basic sciences. If you make a 31+ mcat and a 3.7+ in your post bac I'm sure you'll have no problem.