DIY post bacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wolverine93

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from undergrad recently from a top 30 university. It was way too competitive there for me and my grades took a dive.

I have a 2.86 cumulative GPA and my science GPA is about a 2.5.

I'm thinking of doing a DIY post bacc at a university close to home to save money.

Has anyone done this before and ended up successful? I was thinking it could really help with the grade replacement policy DO schools have.

I want to retake classes I got a C or worse in. Should I take upper level science classes too?

Members don't see this ad.

I have done the DIY post bac and it have gone the long way in doing it because I didn't know about grade replacement until last fall. I am currently wait listed for this August and plan to reapply. I graduated from undergrad with about a 2.6 and after retakes and post-bac pre-req sciences, I am now at a 3.07 cumulative and ~3.52 science gpa. I also did many retakes at a community college and made sure that the schools I plan on applying to accept them. I say do the retakes first then jump into some upper level bio. If you are feeling confident, do both at the same time.

Very similar situation. DIY worked out very well for me. Retook at a local state school (nothing special). You'll save a lot of money with DIY, plus you'll repair your uGPA's instead of trying to cover it up with a master's GPA...I have heard conflicting things about whether to replace or go for masters from various admissions departments, although most seemed to (for DO school) say do DIY retakes. The MD's advised masters programs more.

In my opinion, the DIY shows initiative, which is what makes it appealing to schools.

I have had 3 acceptances to DO schools, so it has worked out for me.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)