Do I give up? Do I just accept the fact? Here's the situation, what do I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RemiLeDentiste

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, this is my first post and I wanted to thank everyone for all the great advice I have read on this network time and time again.

I'm a senior undergrad VCU student who got accepted into UMD Dental a couple months ago. However, I'm still waiting to hear back from VCU school of dentistry (my in-state school), at what point do I give up waiting to hear back from them? I was interviewed on September 2nd 2008 at VCU and until now I haven't received a reject letter or any notification whatsoever. I'm fine with getting a reject letter but at the same time I would really like some closure. This whole process has been an emotional roller coaster and I just want it to be all said and done. Thanks for your insight, if there's a need for clarification please feel free to ask any questions.

Members don't see this ad.

I've read ( here on sdn) about some people getting acceptances as late as August. The only suggestion I can make is to make your deposit at UMD if you plan on going there if VCU doesnt pan out, and if you get accepted to VCU, well then the deposit would be lost of course (and some other lucky ind. gets the surprise of their life), but it would probably save you more money in the long run since its your state school. Congrats on your acceptance :)

This might be a bit obvious and you prob have done this already, but have you contacted VCU and told them that their school is your #1 and wanted an update on the status of your app? Let them know you have another acceptance and a second deposit coming up but really want to go to their school and only want to get a, "Yes or F-Off" kinda thing.

Members don't see this ad :)