Do I have a chance with a 2.7 gpa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aspiringtobedoc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am a recent college graduate with an econ/business degree from a regional college. My final gpa was around 2.7. Almost immediately after graduation, I became interested in a career in the medical or dental field. Obviously this was very bad timing.

During my college career I only took one biology class and got a B. Most of my bad grades were in math and accounting. So my thinking is if I take the required chemistry, physics and biology courses and get close to a 4.0 in these courses, this would raise my GPA over 3.0. Then if I studied for the MCAT (or DCAT) and do very well, will I be a competitive applicant for med or dental school? Obviously I would also try and get clinical/research experience along the way.

Also, are there any specific post bac programs anyone would recommend? I know my GPA is far from the standard, I just don't want to give up yet.

Thanks Again

Members don't see this ad.

use the DO system retake policy to get you into the >3.2 range, a 2.7 is a waste of time to bother with

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I recommend that you investigate the AACOMAS website or over in pre osteo. http://forums.studentdoctor.net/forums/pre-medical-osteopathic-do.13/
OK, Thanks for replying! I actually have done a little research on the AAMC website and noticed UVA and Columbia have post bac programs that don't list a minimum GPA requirement. I know these are highly ranked universities. However, do you think there respective post bac programs would give me chance if I score highly on the GRE or MCAT?

Ace all the pre-req along with doing very well on the MCAT and doing clinical work should make you a better applicant. So yes I agree with your plan, and don't do a post-bac until after if you can't get in the first time.