Do I have any chance with no Dr. relatives???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

allecj

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm only in my first year of college to earn my bachelor's in pre-dental. I really want to be a dentist, but 2 different dentists have told me that in order to get accepted into dental school you have to be related to a dentist (they actually said a parent). .

Is this true??!! I need to know in order to plan my future! Is the system that rigged? I don't want to waste my time and money if I have no chance.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
This is the biggest BS I've heard in a while. 110% not true

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Reactions: 17 users
It's actually more challenging, in my opinion, to have a parent as a dentist because then you get questioned on if you want to be a dentist for yourself or for your parents. In every interview I've had so far they've asked me about it. So, no, it's definetly not a disadvantage to not have a relative who is a dentist. :)

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Do yourself a favor and find a better dentist/dentists to shadow. Find one that is very engaged with their alumni network and of course with reality.

Reactions: 5 users
Although many of my classmates have parents that are dentists it won't make it any easier from an admissions standpoint. You still have to have the stats, ECs, letters, and shadowing experience to be competitive.

The only thing that will be better if your parent's are dentists is that you will have a much easier time getting a practice to go into. Lol.

Reactions: 3 users
I think I know more people in my class who don't have any relatives who are dentists than people who do.

Reactions: 3 users