Do I HAVE to shadow a DO to be a strong applicant?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PikaPikaPika

I broke my ketchups....
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
GPA/MCAT aside, of course.

But I'm worried about adcoms wondering if I'm choosing DO just because it has a lower GPA/MCAT average and not because I'm interested in the OMM and philosophy behind it. I've personally seen demonstrations and listened to DOs talk about osteopathy every semester and that's how I formed the interest to apply to these schools

I have had a LOT of MD shadowing experience over the last two years (trauma, surgery, family, internal medicine, radiology, ER, etc) and right now I'm taking 5000000 classes and volunteering and other ECs and am not even in the mood to go find people to shadow to prove my interest right now during the summer.

So the question: I know shadowing a DO would be in my best interest, but is it a "given" for every DO applicant to have shadowed one?

Members don't see this ad.

the requirement for shadowing a DO varies from school to school. the school i was accepted to(yay!) required a letter from a DO.
good luck!

It's an easy way to separate people from the group. Think of it in two ways:
1: Don't give anyone a reason to put you in the "no pile"
2: You're not in the mood? When they ask you why you didn't is that what you are going to say? Go find a DO, shadow once a week for a couple months. Yep, you sound pretty busy. There is no busy that is too busy when you are talking about med school

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Find out if the schools you want to apply to require a letter from a DO. Many schools do.

Other than that, I'm not sure that it would be absolutely required if you have very good numbers. If you don't or if you're average, I would really think twice about taking a shortcut on this...