Do I really need to shadow a doctor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fdsa2495

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current Junior and planning to apply this Summer. My question is if I need to shadow a docotor even though I have more than 4 years of clinical experience. During high school I volunteered at a hospital and after high school I was offered a position as a patient care tech. Since, then I have been working at a hospital part time throughout undergrad as a patient care tech, nurses unit clerk, cardiac monitor tech and ekg tech. I have had conversations with many hospitalists and usually assist them with their physician ordets and lab orders. If I am able to recieve a letter of recommendation from one of them will adcoms still think I do not have much experience because I've never shadowed a doctor?

Members don't see this ad.

If you only have experience in the inpatient setting, you might want to do a bit of shadowing in a doctor's office. Furthermore, if the only providers you've worked with have been hospitalizes, you might also look into shadowing a primary care doc for a bit.

Reactions: 3 users
If you look on MSAR, 75-90% of most accepted students for each school have shadowing.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
If you look on MSAR, 75-90% of most accepted students for each school have shadowing.

But they shadow to gain experience and I'm wondering if what I do would be considered "experience". I mean I could try shadowing but I might not have enough time since I'm working part time and trying to study for the MCAT. That's why I was wondering if I could just go along and say I didn't shadow but I still do have some inpatient experience. But thank you for the statistics, I will try my best to maybe shadow a primary care.