About the ads

1. Check out PREMED.me!
    Offers FREE service to help premeds manage their applications and MCAT study calendars and identify schools to target.

Do most State Schools prefer In-State applicants?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical Allopathic [ MD ]' started by Zyvox, Apr 14, 2008.

1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. Zyvox

Zyvox

Pre-Pharmacy
    SDN 7+ Year Member

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    Do all state schools prefer in-state applicants? I'm in the process of registering for classes and researching schools and the different requirements some of them have. I'm not a science major, so I'm taking extra classes that different medical schools prefer, such as genetics, molecular biology, embryology, etc.

I'm a florida resident and hopefully I'll be applying to all the six allopathic programs in the state of florida. At this point I'm looking at other schools in the US and wondering if, other to the state schools, my best shots are the private schools (which i think have no preference for in state or out of state applicants) How does it work with the state schools? I know most of them only take a small percentage of out of state applicants, but are there schools out there that have better statistics for out of state residents, maybe approaching the fiftieth percentile range?

Thanks thanks thanks and thanks
  2. pseudoMCAT45

pseudoMCAT45

Medical Student
    SDN 5+ Year Member
    not to be mean but...... DO UR OWN RESEARCH!!!
  3. Zyvox

Zyvox

Pre-Pharmacy
    SDN 7+ Year Member
    I will, but I like to get some opinions first...I think most of the questions on this forum could be answered with a little research ;)
  4. Ella Shepherd

Ella Shepherd Screen. Stage. Studio.

Pre-Medical
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    Yes, I believe they do. I don't know the stats but reading the info and FAQs on their websites help. :)
  5. bodonid