Do schools give preference to 1st time or multiple time applicants?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Femshep

Class of 2021!!
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
This might be a silly question, but I'm a current junior in undergrad and technically I could apply to vet school this summer for entry into the Fall 2016 year. I have a good GPA and I would finish all my prereqs by the Spring before. However, I know I don't have enough experience to be competitive. I will have around 350-400 SA hrs split between a spay and neuter clinic and a MedVet hospital. I will have around 140 hrs of exotic/wildlife shadowing a vet in Africa, and around 60-70 hrs at a wildlife hospital. No large animal or research. :/

I was thinking of applying just to my instate school (Ohio State) this year, but comparing myself to other applicants I am very far behind in experience. Should I just wait until next year to apply, or is there some benefit to being a 2nd time applicant in the year I really planned to enter into anyway (Fall 2017). And by that time I will hopefully have LA and research.

Members don't see this ad.

This might be a silly question, but I'm a current junior in undergrad and technically I could apply to vet school this summer for entry into the Fall 2016 year. I have a good GPA and I would finish all my prereqs by the Spring before. However, I know I don't have enough experience to be competitive. I will have around 350-400 SA hrs split between a spay and neuter clinic and a MedVet hospital. I will have around 140 hrs of exotic/wildlife shadowing a vet in Africa, and around 60-70 hrs at a wildlife hospital. No large animal or research. :/