PhD/PsyD Do you put "LP" after your degree when sending emails and signing documents?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TexasPsychologistPsyD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I was wondering whether or not those who are licensed psychologists put "LP" after their name to identify themselves as a licensed psychologist? This would look like "Jane Doe, PsyD, LP." Being a psychologist myself, I have not done so, but have noticed that several of my colleagues do. I asked one, who stated that he "wanted to distinguish [himself] from other PhD's...like those in physics and english." He continued, adding that "it is important for people to know that you have doctorate in psychology, and the LP does just that." One colleague told me that in Minnesota, it was "a requirement" (assumedly by the Minnesota licensing board) to put the "LP" in their name for the same reason that the aforementioned individual stated. I asked several lay individuals, and they had no clue what the LP meant, but knew what PsyD and PhD were.

What are your thoughts? Is this an important distinction that psychologists should be putting as a part of their credentials? If so, why was this not discussed in graduate school (at least not in mine)? Should it not be more uniformed across the country/world to decrease any type of confusion for those seeking services?

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to your response!

Respectfully,

Dr. C.

Members don't see this ad.

Varies. I did it when I lived in a state that required it. I don't do it in my current state. I'm not a big fan of a bunch of acronyms following my name. In my experience, the more random letters that a person has after their name, the more incompetent they are. Generally because it's usually a bunch of credentials that the individual has purchased from online vanity boards that do not actually confer any competence.