Doctor's self Rx. your state's policy & your educated stance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

geldrop

Crushed Pepper Rules
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am currently a resident physician and read an article discussing about self prescribing among residents. I was talking among colleagues and many of them admit to self prescribing or having a friend or wife/ husband write them an Rx. Several even admit to having prescribed class IV medications for themselves (valium, vicodin, ambien) were some of the examples.

What is the teaching from your pharmacy school and what is your state pharmacy boards policy?

On a personal note I have Rx myself non-controlled substances for my chronic illness and it was oked. On the other hand after my wife hurt her back I wrote her an Rx for valium and the pharmacist got her panties in a knot....

Members don't see this ad.

It's considered a faux pas. I don't think its specifically illegal to write for family...though you technically have to have a "legitimate medical relationship" to treat a patient. It's sketchy...I could see where many retail pharmacists would refuse...I wouldn't mess with the DEA. They don't F' around.

Reactions: 1 user
It varies by state. For NYS and most other states, the consensus is that as long as you are a physician with a MD/DO degree, you can prescribe whatever you want for who you want. If you are a resident physician for dental or PDM, it has to be related to your scope of practice. With that said, there are a few reasons why prescribing for your friends and family is frown upon especially if the script is not related to your speciality.

http://www.op.nysed.gov/article131-a.htm

3. Practicing the profession with negligence on more than one occasion;

Negligence is really subjective and that would depend on the situation.