PhD/PsyD Does getting a degree in Clinical Psych bar you from Counseling Psych work and vice versa?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

simplybaroque

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry for the overhashed "clinical vs counseling" question :( Some of the threads have been very helpful on distinguishing the differences in academic and practicum choices between the two, but I was curious about this:

What happens if I get a PhD in Clinical Psychology and later in life want to work in a traditionally Counseling Psych position (for example, in a university mental health center or open a private practice focusing on relationship therapy)? Will the Clinical Psych degree make me less desirable for those roles? That is, if there were two individuals with similar credentials, will the university health center usually choose the Counseling Psych person over the Clinical Psych person?

How about in the reverse? If I got a PhD in Counseling Psych but received adequate training (practicum, postdoc, etc.) in psychopathology, would I still be able to work with mentally-disordered individuals (schizophrenia, ADHD, the works)? Or would you need a Clinical Psych degree to even begin thinking about assessment/treatment of mental health disorders?

I mainly ask because my stats aren't that good, and I plan on applying to both Clinical and Counseling programs and just seeing where I'll get in... still not sure where I want to end up eventually (I am more interested in psychopathology but probably have the personality type that would be more successful with counseling....)

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

In my experience, not at all. I've found prac experiences to be much better at opening doors (I.e., clinical psychs don't magically get va positions handed to them with no va or hospital experience, and counseling psychs I know who had hospital and va experience got hospital and va jobs, and the converse).