Does it matter in what college you go to?

who109

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
My father is forcing me to go to Lane Community College because I have family there. I read reviews online and it's not that great. He says I should take my 4 years of pre-med there then I could go to anywhere I want to. So when I apply to Universities, do they care where I earned my bachelors? or it just depends on my grades?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey! Although it's not impossible to get into medical school by doing community college (Hopkins recently decided to accept it.. So yay) your best option is probably going directly to a 4 year university. Don't take your prereqs at a CC, as it may be seen as "easier" and not be taken seriously.

Reactions: 1 user
Hey! Although it's not impossible to get into medical school by doing community college (Hopkins recently decided to accept it.. So yay) your best option is probably going directly to a 4 year university. Don't take your prereqs at a CC, as it may be seen as "easier" and not be taken seriously.
But isn't it required that I have a bachelors degree and MCAT?

Members don't see this ad :)
How is he forcing you to go? You should explain to him that it would be better if you went to a 4 year college.
Wait community college is only 2 years? I'm not american so this is all new to me.

If you can, go to a four-year university. If you absolutely can't, then do the two years.

There are some people (including some pre-meds/med students) that started out at community college and then transferred. I don't see how anyone can force you to go anywhere, though. Don't go to CC unless you want to, or, you need to. You earn your Bachelors at a four year university. It doesn't really matter where you obtain a degree. Your grades, MCAT, EC's, etc. matter more. CC is only two years, and you take the MCAT while you are in college. Go straight to a university if that is what you want.

Reactions: 1 user