Does surgery ever get boring?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Archdelux

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have an honest question of you surgeons--does doing the same procedure (often for very long periods of time) ever get boring? If not--is it something to do with your personality or to do with the career/specialty? If so--how do you cope?

On a different note--does surgery ever become 'too physical', in the sense that you wished you spent more time diagnosing/talking to patient/etc. instead of in the OR (more 'cerebral' medicine)? Or do most find it a perfect mix of both?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I have an honest question of you surgeons--does doing the same procedure (often for very long periods of time) ever get boring?

Certainly not yet but Im only an intern. However, on my ortho rotation as a student I was bored numb after seeing my 2nd hip replacement. If I never see another knee or hip again it will be a blessing. So I guess it depends upon what kinda procedures you like: delicate graceful surgery or pounding away like a monkey.

If not--is it something to do with your personality or to do with the career/specialty? If so--how do you cope?

Probably personality. I like to do repetative things and get better/faster every time, its part of my one-track-mind personality. But every case is also a little different so there is some element of discovery.

On a different note--does surgery ever become 'too physical', in the sense that you wished you spent more time diagnosing

No

talking to patient

Depends on the patient, usually no...every so often yes.

etc. instead of in the OR

No, stupid question.

Or do most find it a perfect mix of both?

Not perfect by any means but in private practice you can adjust the mix by using PA's etc to fit what you like to do.