Does the Myers-Briggs personality test have any standing in actual psychology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Daddycrate

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to apologize in advance, as I don't know whether I'm even asking this question correctly, whether I posted this in the correct section, or whether this is somehow offensive to ask. However, I was simply wondering if the Myers-Briggs personality test actually had any merit. It seems to be quite well-known, and people seem to put some level of confidence in it. I'm a high school student, and my teachers were actually forced to take this test and were given advice on how to teach more effectively based on their personality types. Again, I apologize for any mistakes I might have made. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

I want to apologize in advance, as I don't know whether I'm even asking this question correctly, whether I posted this in the correct section, or whether this is somehow offensive to ask. However, I was simply wondering if the Myers-Briggs personality test actually had any merit. It seems to be quite well-known, and people seem to put some level of confidence in it. I'm a high school student, and my teachers were actually forced to take this test and were given advice on how to teach more effectively based on their personality types. Again, I apologize for any mistakes I might have made. Thank you.

no.

Based off the work of Carl Jung, who said he got these ideas from a demon named Phil. Not even joking. Alright, maybe a lil. The demon's name was Philemon.

Reliabilities in the .5 range when people other than the publisher do the research. Essentially 50/50 chance you change types next time you take it. Not great for a personality test.

If you think a demon inspired test that says your entire personality can change each time you take it is scientific, then.....

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)