Doing Peds in addition to Psych?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

serimeri

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an intern here and I have really been enjoying my Pediatrics rotation. I feel like I am a much happier person around children. I still want to do Child Psychiatry but I also miss the medicine part of Pediatrics. I was wondering if anyone has done one of those combined programs that give you triple board certification or has any info on them? Is there any benefit to having the Pediatrics certification at all?

I love my program and my institution so much, but I don't think they have a combined program. I just feel like I am happier around kids.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

I am not a triple boarder. Those that are may think it a good idea. But generally, I tend to hear that it doesn't make much sense -- in the end, you're likely just going to practice child/adolescent psychiatry. You end up missing out on some general psychiatry training compared to those of us who don't have the Pediatrics piece, which I think is a detriment (edit: I misread, maybe if you're already in psych then you wouldn't end up missing out, but then it would take you longer to finish).

but I also miss the medicine part of Pediatrics.
Not to sound annoying or defensive or whatever, but I want to know what you mean by this? I think it would be worthwhile for you to explore your thoughts on this and see how your perception actually matches up with reality as we see it. (edit again: seeing how you're in psych, I don't want to imply that you don't know what it's like. But, as an intern, things aren't the same as they will be later on. For me, the further I progressed, the more I learned, the more I understood the role of psychiatry in medicine and of medicine in psychiatry. Or something like that.)