Donor Lab Accommodations for Disabilities

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eozzy2

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a first year medical student, and I was shocked to learn that my school does not provide a reduced distraction testing environment for students with learning disabilities when we take our donor / cadaver lab practicals. (I am referring to students who have already been registered with the disabilities office as requiring reduced distraction testing due to said learning disabilities.) I was wondering if this is the case with other schools as well, or if my school is the only one refusing to provide these accommodations.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Mine does for written exams, but I've never heard of this being done for lab practicals. I can only imagine that the rationale is that in the clinic, you don't get accommodations.

I suppose that could be... But I do receive extended time in the donor lab practicals, so I don't quite see how that could be their rationale - It's not as if I would have extra time in the clinic either. I fully understand that I can't have any accommodations in my Clinical Skills Assessments, Radiology Interpretations, Palpations, or Standardized Patient Experiences; nor would I expect any. But it isn't as if going from body to body and identifying structures could be considered a real-life application of our education, which makes me feel like the accommodations should stand, nevermind the fact that I find it to be the most distracting testing environment by a landslide in comparison to all of the others that I mentioned. (And I realize you were simply offering a possible explanation, I don't mean to sound as if I'm trying to argue with you; I'm just trying to reason through this.)

Members don't see this ad :)