DPT to MD. Is it worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fickstar

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Need some validation or encouragement. I’ve been on SDN for about 3 years, so I think it’s time I finally make my first post.

I’m 27 years old male, single with no kids, graduated from a doctor of physical therapy school last September and I’m currently working as a physical therapist. During my clinical rotations in PT school, I developed an interest in medicine, the passion and desire just continued to grow and I am now at a stage where I’m seriously considering going back to school to become a medical doctor. I was so intrigued with various aspects of medicine and I got to observe some orthopedic surgeries while I was a PT student and it blew my mind! I’ve done a ton of research and I know the road to medicine is tough; I just get so overwhelmed when I think about the financial sacrifices and the thought of having to go back to school to do it all over again.

PT school was very challenging but I really applied myself and graduated with almost a 3.9 GPA. I know it’s all about your undergrad grades when it comes to medical school, my undergrad GPA is around 3.3, with my science GPA just at a little over 3.0. I attended University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign for undergrad and I honestly just wasn’t a good student back then (I lacked direction and focus). I have most of my prereqs completed for medical school because I needed the same classes to apply to PT school. However, I still need to take organic chem 1/chem 2 and one or two higher level science courses to bring up my science GPA. If I get my mind right, I’m planning on taking orgo 1 this august.