Dropping Clinical

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LisaLisa86

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a second year graduate student in a clinical psychology program. We just started our clinical training this year, and my program is quite long: 5-6 years plus an internship for clinical track. I'm also in a very productive research lab, with a lot of great resources- while I'm here, I have the opportunity to pursue many interesting/unique research topics and form many research connections.

I primarily enjoy research, and was drawn to the field of psychology specifically to do research. However, I don't feel like I have a set research niche yet, and I'm not entirely sure what I want my career after graduate school to look like- I've been mentally defaulting to professor, but I'm unsure if that's something I entirely want to pursue. I largely enjoy research design and statistics. I would also like to teach as well, in some capacity. I applied to PhD programs that were mostly clinical, but a few non-clinical programs as well. However, I partly chose this program because of the clinical option.