Drugs! Drugs! ...and more Drugs!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PMR TX MS

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey,

I am about to start intern year and am worried because I feel a little shaky on Pharm. Anyone know a good book that lists common drugs and basic info that would be useful for a medicine intern? I know First Aid for Step 1 is good, but I've already passed that book on.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Members don't see this ad.

Just get yourself a pharmacopia and you'll be fine. And remember, the hospital pharmacists are your best friends! :thumbup:

I'm a hospital pharmacist & yes...I can be your best friend! We are usually very gentle with interns until Oct or so...by then you should know DSS is never stat & no...you cannot write an rx for your wife's bcp.

As for a pharmacopeia......good luck with that! Most of them are about 1000 pages & list more info than you want to know (solubility, pKa, etc....)

Ask your PD if your hospital has a formulary. This should list the drugs which are used within your facility (ie - which proton pump antoginist, which NSAID, etc...is on formulary). It will save you calls from us. Also, the lab will have an antibiogram, published monthly - which gives the current resistance patteerns. That too should give you an idea of what is formulary in your facility.

Otherwise - call us. We'll get to know you over the next year no matter what - it might as well be sooner than later! :D

sdn1977 said:
As for a pharmacopeia......good luck with that! Most of them are about 1000 pages & list more info than you want to know (solubility, pKa, etc....)

My guess is they meant the Tarascon Pocket Pharmacopoeia (http://www.tarascon.com). Very concise, clinically-relevant info only. Definitely a must-have for interns.

sdn1977 said:
& no...you cannot write an rx for your wife's bcp.