ECFMG certificate and Match

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kingkenny

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question about the ECFMG certification process which I hope you could help me with.
I graduated from a foreign medical school in August 2011 and have my Provisional degree certificate with me(not valid for ECFMG certificate). I have requested my University to issue my Medical Diploma but they state that due to regulations, I can only receive it in March-April 20112. Otherwise, I have completed all requirements for the ECFMG certificate. I checked my status on NRMP and it says ‘ECFMG status verified'.

My interviews are in January and my question is whether I can match without the ECFMG certificate? The NRMP manual/ECFMG website just states that I should have completed the exams for ECFMG certification by ROL deadline without which I will be removed from the match. I also plan on informing the places I'm interviewing at of my situation and plan to take a letter from my University which states when I'll receive my diploma.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

considering most students are in their 4th year by ROL and match day, this means they still haven't graduated, which means they can't be ECFMG certified. so yes, you can still be in the match without the ECFMG certificate. i'm sure nrmp stated that. good luck

considering most students are in their 4th year by ROL and match day, this means they still haven't graduated, which means they can't be ECFMG certified. so yes, you can still be in the match without the ECFMG certificate. i'm sure nrmp stated that. good luck

I think you're referring to US med students and while its true for them, does the same hold good for FMG's?