EM vs. Psychiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Darkskies

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a third year medical student trying to decide what field to go into. My favorite subject from the didactic years was microbiology and although I am interested in Infectious Disease, I do not know if I would enjoy having to go through 3 years of Internal Medicine(haven't had my IM rotation yet though) and then 2 years of fellowship to ultimately have a lower salary than any other field and have a more restricted job market in which to work. I've only spent a week in the peds ER as the sum total of my ER experience thus far and it seems like there is a fair amount of microbiology involved in ER visits based on this brief experience. I also like having to deduce what could be wrong with a patient and the detective work involved. I dislike having to manage multiple comorbidities or having a lot of uncertainty as that stresses me out. I like toying with the idea of outreach and advocacy and I think there may be opportunities to do so as an ER physician. Is there a lot of uncertainty and long term medical management in EM?

Now, attributes that might make me less fit to pursue EM is that I like taking the time to ponder and think and do not do well under high stress, quick paced environments. That being said, if my duty as an ER physician would be just to stabilize and treat the patient's immediate issues that may be more suited to my character. I keep hearing about burn-out is a major issue among EM doctors so that doesn't make it appealing either. I also do not like doing procedures but I suppose this might just be a fear that I can overcome. Is it possible to be an EM physician who doesn't do procedures?