EMS During Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aspirantmed

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an incoming first-year medical student who's interested in EM. I've worked part- and full-time as an EMT-I over the last 5 years, and while I plan to explore other specialties during medical school, I could eventually see myself returning back to some combination of EM, EMS medical direction, and prehospital care research as a career.

Given this, is it feasible (and beneficial) to continue involvement in EMS throughout medical school? Essentially, my question is twofold: I'm looking to find how doable this kind of time commitment might be, and whether it would be favorably looked upon or not as much in the EM residency selection process.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I worked part time as a volunteer EMT in the first and second year of medical school, maybe 1 shift/month max. Third and fourth year - not recommended.

I'm currently and EMS and ED Medical Director, and I don't think this extra EMS time helped in the residency application process.

I have no personal experience with this but I think your past experience with EMS would look nice on your EM app, but I don't know that continuing to do it would necessarily give you a boost. Med school is pretty time consuming especially 3rd year. My school didn't want us to have any kind of job (they made a few exceptions) so that we could focus on school. That being said you could probably get away with a couple shifts here and there but I wouldn't commit to anything real regular

Members don't see this ad :)